If your brokerage has enabled Private Contacts, you can protect your contacts from being viewed by other users in the brokerage.


When this setting is enabled, a notification banner will appear at the top of your contact record, indicating that the contact is currently private.


While a contact is private, only you can access and edit it. Once the contact is added to a transaction, it will no longer be private and can be accessed by other users who have permission to view the transaction.

Note: This feature is controlled by your brokerage. If you do not see this notification, your brokerage may not have enabled Private Contacts.



If you are a manager searching for Managed Contacts in the CRM, only contacts belonging to users who have Protect Contacts disabled will appear in the search results.


If your brokerage has enabled the Protect Contacts setting, a notification banner will appear at the top of the search page to let you know that some contacts may not be included in the results due to their privacy settings.

Note: Contacts marked as private are only visible to the user who created them until they are added to a transaction. As a result, managers will not be able to locate these private contacts through the Managed Contacts search.




For Managers: Even if another agent has protected their contacts, you may still be able to view those contacts if they have been added to a transaction that you have access to.


To view the contact:

  1. Open the transaction.
  2. Navigate to the People tab.
  3. Locate the contact.
  4. Click the dropdown menu next to the contact’s name.
  5. Select View Contact.

This will allow you to view the contact information associated with the transaction.




When running the following CRM reports:

  • CRM Full Activity
  • CRM Contact Activity

any contacts that you do not have permission to access will be completely removed from the report results. 

Protected contacts that are not available to you will not appear in these reports.